Skip to content

My Windows 10 Pro experience

06/08/2015

The Windows 10 official release date was on 29 July 2015. I chose to upgrade my Windows 7 Pro desktop the very next day. However, I didn’t like my new desktop one little bit, and quickly became fed-up with the overall experience. I viewed switching to this new operating system as pointless and needless, and activated the roll-back process that was a disaster. I read some of the hype:

When you upgrade to Windows 10, you will have access to a continuous stream of innovation, including Cortana, universal apps, and a seamless experience between devices. And if you so desire, you can enjoy Windows 10 on novel devices, like the Surface Hub or the HoloLens. Microsoft is boldly stepping into the future with innovative software and hardware. Link

I have no need for a ‘seamless experience between devices.’ My Windows 7 Pro desktop, Moto G ‘phone and Acer Chromebook 13 CB5-311P-T730 interact nicely by means of Google Drive, Pushbullet, MightyText. Further, I have no need for a faster, easier, smarter, more user-friendly devise, and that includes Cortana and Edge (I’m not ready to move away from Firefox). And, that was not my experience, anyway, no matter how brief the annoying experience was.

I followed my introduction to Windows 10 with a careful and well-planned fresh install of Windows 7 Pro. Windows 7 will continue to receive security updates until 14 January 2020 (End of extended support).

I have a Windows 10 Product ID and won’t be hampered by the current 1 year upgrade limitation.

I like my Windows 7 Pro which runs just fine and meets my simple straightforward needs. In summary, nothing in my Windows 7 desktop is broken so why fix it? Windows 10 has little if anything to offer that would improve how I use my computer.

Further, when you upgrade to Windows 10 you permit it to spy on you: to view, record, collect, capture, and share data as they see fit – everything on your Windows device! And, despite much hype there is no way to turn this spy ware off. Yes, some features allow user control. But, that is a smokescreen when you consider this statement,

Finally, we will access, disclose and preserve personal data, including your content (such as the content of your emails, other private communications or files in private folders), when we have a good faith belief that doing so is necessary to: 1.comply with applicable law or respond to valid legal process, including from law enforcement or other government agencies; 2.protect our customers, for example to prevent spam or attempts to defraud users of the services, or to help prevent the loss of life or serious injury of anyone;

And this,

…however, if we receive information indicating that someone is using our services to traffic in stolen intellectual or physical property of Microsoft, we will not inspect a customer’s private content ourselves, but we may refer the matter to law enforcement.

I don’t want Microsoft to know anything about me at all. I don’t want Microsoft to access any or all of my data. I will not agree to give them this authority by simply not upgrading to version 10. Yet, I’m aware that this is not a fool proof solution.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

