Skip to content

My Ayahuasca retreat reasons

23/07/2013

I’m 70 years of age, and I don’t wear tattoos nor have I ever indulged in drugs other than fags when young and booze (sometimes in excess but no longer). Yet I always wanted a tattoo and experience mind-altering drugs. I’m reminded of my stalwart position by observing the fifth precept and that as a blood donor tattoos would prohibit blood donations. Well, my blood is not wanted as I lived in England during a critical period. (I pleaded my vegetarian case but that fell on deaf ears.) I do not accept the logic that mind-altering drugs are the basis for heedlessness. Not at all.

I’m reminded of the exchange between two Chinese Zen masters: the teacher Dizang and his student Fayan. Dizang saw Fayan all dressed-up in his travelling clothes, with his straw sandals and staff, and a pack on his back, and Dizang said, “Where are you going?” Fayan answered, “Around on pilgrimage.” Dizang said, “What is the purpose of pilgrimage?” Fayan said, “I don’t know.” Dizang said, “Not knowing is nearest.”

Similarly, I don’t fully know why I want to experience Ayahuasca. But here are my reasons:

  1. to learn and experience the supernatural forces, worlds and beings described by Graham Hancock in his book Supernatural: Meetings with the Ancient Teachers of Mankind; and in the interview with Professor Michael Harner.
  2. to recover a child-like sense of enchantment and mystery as opposed to the mundane mainstream world of advertising, credit and obsolescence.
  3. to understand that the purpose of this life is to prepare for death, and that preparing to die is inseparable from preparing to live.
  4. to maximise my physical, mental, emotional, and intellectual capacity and well being.
  5. taking Ayahuasca is a transgressive act that violates Australian laws.
From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

