Skip to content

How to live a life of quality immune to propaganda

25/03/2013

Let me begin by telling you how I live my life with several relevant excerpts from my personal manifesto. I read my manifesto daily.

I will live a life of quality, not just quantity, and a death with care but no heroics, and I will go gentle into that good night. Everything that follows informs those principles underlying my manifesto:

  • I will not conform to the dominant culture.
  • I will live with an awareness of powerful forces (Big Pharma, government agencies, financial industry) that attempt to seduce me into believing what the puppet masters want me to believe.
  • I will not hand over my life to others in any way whatsoever. I and I alone will decide those issues affecting my life. No one else!
  • I will be clear about my values, principles, beliefs, and such like, and live my life accordingly.
  • I will decline whatever the mainstream media pushes as essential, mandatory, or whatever.
  • I will remember this quotation by H.L. Mencken,

The whole aim of practical politics is to keep the populace alarmed (and hence clamorous to be led to safety) by menacing it with an endless series of hobgoblins, all of them imaginary.

  • I believe in myself and I’m not afraid to stand up and stand out.
  • I will not be enslaved by the consumption model created by advertising, obsolescence and credit.

Now, read Being Conned with Bullshit and especially the 78 comments. If that doesn’t cause you to change your views about the mainstream media then nothing will.

I would like to add that I’ve taught a course Propaganda techniques and how to counter them. This course was well received and for some a life-changer.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

