Skip to content

My A710 7" Capacitive Touch Screen 4GB Android 4.0.3 Tablet PC with Wi-Fi and HDMI

26/05/2012

I’ve wanted a tablet for some time, and finally, after a little research took the plunge. I now own and use every day – a generic Android tablet bought from a seller on eBay and it’s amazing. It boasts a 5-point multitouch capacitive screen, a Cortex A8 1.5GHz processor, 4GB of built-in memory expandable to 32GB with a microSD card and 512MB of RAM. It has an USB Port, Audio Port, HDMI Port, Card Slot, DC Input, a 2MP front-facing camera, and battery time of around 4 hours. My tablet came pre-rooted with Android 4.0.3 (Ice Cream Sandwich) installed. It came loaded with several apps and widgets.

I decided that a 7-inch screen would be ideal. It’s small enough to hold comfortably in one hand but not too small that writing on the screen is impossible without a stylus. In landscape mode the A710 is perfect for writing, playing games, and watching streaming video. In portrait mode it’s perfect for reading,  Reading on a 7-inch tablet is as ideal as it gets.

 A710 7

The tablet is a sleek and slim design and ergonomic on my hands. It worked perfectly straight out of the box. WiFi setup was a breeze. The touch screen works well. I installed a bunch of free apps from Google Play (a simple process) and they work great. This process is dead simple. The screen is bright, clear with vivid colours. I’m a Mozilla Firefox fan but prefer the installed browser on this device – but will persevere a little longer with Firefox 10. Videos play blazingly fast and flawlessly. I temporarily installed an 8GB microSD card. I found that battery time is increased by decreasing brightness somewhat. I could not put the tablet down for hours, and it remains glued to my hand.

I’m researching a suitable pocket 3G/WiFi device along with a prepaid broadband plan; and a portable mini 150M 802.11n 3G/WiFi AP wireless router. I may ultimately settle on both devices for use when away from home.

The main reason I chose to buy this particular tablet, and to buy it now, is price. I paid US$109.99. It came with a charger, micro USB cable and micro USB OTG cable. The price included shipping from Hong Kong, and it was delivered in about two weeks from date of my order. I’m waiting on the keyboard case from another seller which cost me AU$12.49 (also included shipping from Hong Kong) to turn my tablet into a netbook of sorts. It’s small, compact, and easy to operate. All of which makes it perfect for use for the next and final leg of my pilgrimage to Jerusalem. I’m looking forward to that.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

