Skip to content

I love London, and the marauding Black-Caribbean youths despoiling my favourite city disturbs me

10/08/2011

On the morning of Thursday 7 July 2005, four Islamic nutters detonated three bombs in London tube trains and a fourth on a double-decker bus. Fifty-two people died, and over 700 were injured. It was then that I recognised my identity as ‘Londoner.’ I love London, and the marauding Black-Caribbean youths despoiling my favourite city disturbs me.

Yet, the problems are obvious and include (this list is without reference to documents but based on my experiences as a social work practitioner and resident of London): police oppression, high and disproportionate incarceration rates, poor housing, poverty, lack of social mobility, high school dropouts (reflecting an education system not meeting the needs of these troubled youths), poor paternal role models, and drastic expenditure cutbacks. It’s high time that the authorities shift their gaze from the middle east and elsewhere and focus on their own societies.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

